Watercolour painting: blue mood

In one of my previous posts I wrote about using just black for watercolour paintings. You can check it here.

But today I’d like to introduce my second, or sometimes first preference for monochrome paintings: blue.

img031

This was probably my first blue painting, with a slight touch of pink.

Yes, there is variety of blues, lots of them, my top favourite is cobalt blue when it comes to using just one colour. Second – ultramarine blue. I do sometimes mix them in palette, or on the paper. Sometimes I use help of other blues I have, I can’t remember the names of all of them at the moment, but maybe later I’ll try to gather this info and add it here or do a separate post about them.

img502img101

img022

Using blue makes it easy to “create light” and feeling of space…

img517 img395…some misty or foggy mood…

img082What other colour can be better for painting winter?

img343

img154…or going a bit wild 🙂

img668Sometimes I add a bit of some other colour, depending on my mood, as I did here, though I’m never sure if that is a good solution 🙂

img380 img360By the way, it also works well with salt:

img593

This one was also one of my first watercolour experiments.

This one was also one of my first watercolour experiments.

This is example of different blues combination:

img519

With a bit of white gouache

And a few more from my “blue” collection:

img012

img823

img822

The one below is painted with cobalt blue ink by Winsor&Newton. You can read more about the inks I use here.

img813 a

img588

With a bit of white gouache

The one below is painted on the blue tinted Bockingford watercolour paper. You can read more about paper I use here.

img654

img557

img494I hope you enjoyed my in a good way “blue” mood 🙂

2 thoughts on “Watercolour painting: blue mood

Leave a Reply

